Prosper celebrates opening of new post office

staff reports
The U.S. Postal Service will conduct a ribbon-cutting ceremony to commemorate the grand opening of the new US Post Office in Prosper. The event will be held in front of the Post Office at 941 N. Coleman in Prosper, and it is free and open to the public.

The U.S. Postal Service held a ribbon-cutting ceremony for the newly constructed Prosper Post Office at the end of last month. In conjunction with the official grand opening, Stacy Auten was officially sworn in as the Prosper Postmaster by Texas 1 District Manager Scott Hooper.

Auten became only the seventh Prosper Postmaster in over 128 years.

Jim Spradley, the former Postmaster (pictured below) served the community of Prosper for over 40 years from 1978 to 2018. The Prosper Post Office was officially established on May 22, 1893, upon the appointment of Larkin A. Adamson as the first Postmaster.

Over 50 guests attended the event, which included City of Prosper officials, residents, current and retired USPS employees, and local firefighters, police, and paramedics. Due to city population outgrowing the former Post Office, the Rural Carriers had to work out of the Frisco, TX, Post Office and separate from their co-worker Retail Associates. The new facility which is approximately 17,153 square feet on a 5.3-acre site, allows for all the Prosper employees to work together under the same roof. Postal customers and employees both commented that they are happy with the 28 retail parking spaces and 44 employee spaces.