AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Estela Avery, Tina Yturria Buford, Starr Corbin, Karen Harris, Amy Henderson, Karen Manning, Imelda Navarro, Rienke Radler, Jinous Rouhani, Catherine Susser, and Laura Koenig Young, and appointed Nathali Parker to the Governor's Commission for Women for terms set to expire on December 31, 2019.

Additionally, Susser will continue to serve as chairman and Harris will continue to serve as vice chairman. Governor Abbott is charging this commission with developing a strategy and implementation plan to help make Texas the number one state for women-owned businesses, to help address the issue of human trafficking, and to help rebuilding efforts following Hurricane Harvey. Within the Texas Governor’s Economic Development Division, the commission specializes in outreach, education, research and referral services.

Catherine Susser of Corpus Christi is a community volunteer and school board member for the Corpus Christi Independent School District (ISD). She has served as chief accountant for Corpus Christi ISD and a senior accountant at Price Waterhouse. She is a “Go Red for Women” member of the American Heart Association of Corpus Christi. She also serves as an appointee by Speaker Joe Straus to the Texas Commission of Next Generation Assessment and Accountability. She is former president of the Corpus Christi Charity League and the Windsor Park Elementary Parent Teacher Association. Susser received a Bachelor of Business Administration and a Master of Public Accounting from The University of Texas at Austin.