KINGSVILLE- The Lone Star Conference women's cross country championship came down to the wire, but Tarleton finished out in front of the pack and captured its second title in program history.

"What an amazing job these ladies did today," said head coach Pat Ponder. "I'm super proud of them and how hard they worked and competed. We knew coming up we had a shot to win it but it was going to take a team effort.

"I told them every place is important. You can't let up at any point and they didn't and the end result is they are the Lone Star Conference champions."

The TexAnns finished one point ahead of West Texas A&M with 53 points to the Lady Buffs 54 points to win the championship.

Esmeralda Fuentes led the TexAnns with a second-place finish in the 6,000-meter course in a time of 22:06.73. Gretzel Jimenez(23:28.51) came in sixth, Emily Ayers (24:04.40) finished in 13th, and Imani Williams (24:11.55) rounded out the top-15 scorers with a 15th place finish.

Amy Riera finished 17th (24:19.70), Gwyneth Garcia (24:58.45) in 25th, Taylor Richards (25:23.71) in 33rd, Andelynn Carlton(25:26.28) in 36th, and Lisa Flores (26:34.82) rounded out the women's scoring placing 54th respectively.

Fuentes, Jimenez, Ayers, and Williams were named to the LSC All-Conference team with their top-15 finishes.

The men placed second with 60 total points behind West Texas A&M's 23 points.

"WT is tough, they've won five titles in a row," added Ponder. "You've got to give them credit; they do a great job over there. We knew they would be tough and everyone would have to have their best race today to beat them.

"I hurt for our guys because I know they are disappointed. It's going to be one of those situations where we are going to figure out what we are made of and how we bounce back."

Michael Simcho led the Texans in the 8,000-meter course with a second-place finish in a time of 26.07.47. Justin Botello (26:54.40) and Jarred Elizondo (27:06.09) also finished top-10 at the championships with a ninth and tenth-place finish. Johen DeLeoncame in 19th (27:56.55), Quenten Lasseter (28:00.00) in 20th, and Peyton Heinig in 29th (28:47.31).

Joshua Perez placed 40th (29:19.19), Rylan Kaufman in 59th(30:54.66), and James Sheriff in 65th (31:17.73) to round out the Texans scoring.

Simcho, Botello, and Elizondo were named to the LSC All-Conference team.

Tarleton will compete at the NCAA South Central Regional hosted by West Texas A&M on Saturday, Nov. 4.