The Prosper graduating class of 2017 was awarded $11,581,559 in scholarships at the Senior Awards Ceremony last Wednesday. A total of 305 students were awarded scholarships at the ceremony.

The Prosper Education Foundation presented more than 150 awards totaling more than $150,000. The first, the Prosper Community Scholarship, was awarded to 50 seniors. The scholarship guarantees free tuition and fees at Collin College for the first year as long as the qualifications are upheld.

The night began with three $1,000 scholarships awarded by CoServ, the Millen family and Mathnasium to Tish Cama, Justin Cheng and Kaylie Bywater.

The Cory Ausenbaugh Memorial Scholarship was presented by Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Holly Ferguson and awarded to Jessica Fritchie and Lauren Vachon, who are both pursuing a degree in education.

“Many years ago, the Cory Ausenbaugh Memorial Scholarship was established to memorialize Cory Ausenbaugh’s commitment to education,” Ferguson said. “Cory Ausenbaugh was a beloved mother, wife, educator and friend who passed away unexpectedly in 2009. Through the generosity and support of financial backers, the scholarship has been sustained for eight years.”

Another important educator was memorialized through their namesake’s scholarship. The Cynthia Cockrell Memorial Scholarship was presented by Kristen Campbell, chair of the scholarship committee, to Bailey McCraw.

“The Cynthia Cockrell Scholarship Award was inaugurated in 2009 in memory of Cynthia Cockrell, who was a beloved leader and administrator in Prosper,” Campbell said. “This special award is for a graduating senior entering into the field of education. The qualification of applicants was exceptional. This year’s recipient sees the joy and love in learning.”

Four students were awarded the Lee Lodges Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 by the Masonic Lodges in Texas. Madeline Campbell, Zach Elmer, Victoria Nelon and Madison Potts received the scholarship as well as the Lamar Medal, named for Mirabeau B. Lamar, second president of the Republic of Texas.

Madison Potts was also the recipient of the Serving Where it Matters Benevolent Scholarship in honor of the Prosper Ladies Association. Potts received the award as a testament to her service to the community.

The Ronnie Tucker Future Firefighter award was established this year to honor the 20 years of dedication that Fire Chief Ronnie Tucker has demonstrated to the Town of Prosper. Logan Keate was awarded this year’s scholarship to help him pursue his future career as a Firefighter.

Another award dedicated to honoring those students who represent a servant’s heart is the Danny Wilson Allstate Award which was granted to Karanveer Singh.

16 Principal awards were given to honor seniors who demonstrated superior spirit, leadership, music, and art. Those seniors were: Ty Bowman, Jackson Vines, Allie Alford, Aubrey Davenport, Mackenzie Hamilton, Cutter Nielsen, Ryan Shirley, Tish Cama, Katelyn Garst, Aja Hinds, Maurice Landers, Sam Yager, Rebecca Crosby, Zack McConnell, Ashtyn Carr and Mark Werner.

The final awards of the night went to parents who have shown outstanding service to Prosper High School. Carol Gress, Christine Wylot, and Maria and Michael Millen received the Community Awards.